The Waiting Room feature is one of the best ways to protect your Zoom virtual classroom and keep out those who aren’t supposed to be there.
This feature is on by default for K-12/primary and secondary education users. When enabled, you have two options for who hits the Waiting Room before entering a class:
- All Participants will send everyone to the virtual waiting area, where you can admit them individually or all at once.
- Guest Participants Only allows known students to skip the Waiting Room and join but sends anyone not signed in/part of your school into the virtual waiting area.
The virtual Waiting Room can be enabled for every class or for individual classes at the scheduling level. If you forget to turn it on, you can quickly enable the Waiting Room from the Security icon. You also can send people already in the meeting back to the Waiting Room. Next to an individual name in the Participants panel, just select More to the right of their name and Send to Waiting Room and they’ll be removed from the live meeting and placed into the virtual waiting area.
Visit our support page for more information on adjusting your Waiting Room settings.
How to enable the Waiting Room